Michael Mitchell's prizes and awards

British Comparative Literature Association translation competition

1993  1st prize in open section for a piece by the Prague author, Paul Leppin;

1993   prize in Hebrew/ Yiddish/ Jewish section for F. T. Csokor's Jews at the Well.

1994  Commendation for a translation of extract from Marcel Béalu's novel L’Expérience de la nuit

Schlegel-Tieck Prize for translations of German works published in Britain

1993  Rosendorfer's The Architect of Ruins   shortlisted

1996  Meyrink's Golem  shortlisted

1996  Rosendorfer's Stephanie   shortlisted

1998  prize awarded for Rosendorfer's Letters Back to Ancient China  (at last!)

Aristeion prize

1999  Rosendorfer's Letters Back to Ancient China  nominated

Weidenfeld prize for a translation from any European language published in Britain

2000  Grimmelshausen's Simplicissimus  shortlisted

2001 Kubin's The Other Side   shortlisted

2008 Rodenbach's The Bells of Bruges   shortlisted

2013 Ohl's The Lairds of Cromarty   shortlisted

Kurt Wolff prize

2005  Bernhard's Over all the Mountain Tops  shortlisted

Crime Writers' Association Gold Dagger

2005  Glauser's In Matto's Realm  shortlisted

French-American Translation Prize

2014  Blas de Robles' Where Tigers are at home  shortlisted

Other awards

1995 Bursary-holder, British Centre for Literary Translation, University of East Anglia, September-November

1996 Guest, City of Munich Artists' Villa, September

2000 Guest, Austrian Society for Literature, Vienna, March

2012 Award from the Austrian Ministry of Education, Art and Culture for achievements as a translator of literary works